Default 1

An Octave Scale is an 8-step pitch sequence that begins and ends on the same letter.

Above, the sequence of letters loop back to the beginning of the alphabet, after reaching the letter G.  Scales can be built on any pitch.
For example: C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C
Pitch-steps are also called Scale Degrees.
Scale-Degree 1 and Scale-Degree 8, share the same letter name.
In Greek, tonikos means capable of extending from a main tone. Scale-Degrees extend by step from the Scale’s Tonic.
Default 9
Default 1
These steps are the home note of the scale and are called the TONIC.

Check out my book

Take Music Interval Audio Quiz

Over 1,400 multimedia pages – best viewed on computer or tablet