The Three Forms of the Minor Scale
Traditionally, there are 3 different forms of minor scales. In all of the minor scale variations, the first 5 steps remain the same.
Default 4
Some musicians view the minor, as an emotional or sad mode. I picture the minor mode expressing soulful and dramatic qualities.
Default 1
Default 2

In the key of A Minor, the leading tone pitch is G#.

Default 4
Default 5
Default 6

Listen to A Harmonic Minor Scale

Listen to A Natural Minor Scale

The step that differentiates the minor mode from the major mode is the 3rd step of the scale. This very important step of the minor scale is one half-step lower than the 3rd step of a major scale.
You already learned the Natural Minor scale. Everyone has experienced the role of the 7th step of the scale as a leading tone when exploring music in major keys.
Leading tones direct scale notes back to the home note, the tonic. While employing the minor mode, composers often wish to include the power of the leading tone. By raising the 7th step of a natural minor scale, a leading tone is created.

Let’s compare the natural and harmonic minor scales built on A.